The EAA 2017 Official Election Results Are In

EAA_Logo_shield_2cThis year’s EAA Elections concluded as of 8:00a this morning (November 17th). The 3rd party organization tasked with overseeing the election process, the American Arbitration Association (AAA), has tabulated the ballots and certified the results. It should be noted that although the ballots have been counted and the votes recorded, there is still a protest period before the results are made official. 

Candidates have TEN (10) calendar days from today (November 17th) to file a protest. Protests must be received at the EAA Office no later than 5:00p on Monday, November 27, 2017. Once the protest period has ended and any discrepancies have been addressed, the Board of Governors will certify the election results. On January 3, 2018, the winners will be sworn into their elected office at the Board of Governors Meeting. 

With that said, here are the unofficial election results with the winners highlighted in BOLD:

NOTE: No one candidate received a sufficient number of write-in votes to be considered for any position.

  • Gonzalo Barriga (Incumbent)          156
  • Marc Wagner                                       112
  • Write-Ins                                               5
  • Larry Day (Incumbent)                    20
  • Write-Ins                                             1
  • Carl Paneno (Incumbent)                 27
  • Yul Johnson                                        42
  • Write-Ins                                              0
  • Ho Jeong Eun                                     12
  • Diana Galaviz                                     19
  • Serene Chen-Pang                            35
  • John Garner                                       58
  • Write-Ins                                             1
  • Bhupendra Patel                               18
  • Write-Ins                                              6
  • Jill Woo                                               64
  • Write-Ins                                             12
  • Laura Castellanos                             37
  • Donald Jojola                                     37
  • Anna Robinson                                  43
  • Write-Ins                                              15

Team EAA would also like to take this time to acknowledge the contributions of the following individuals:

  • Robi Rivera (AAA) for ensuring the election process was run fair and impartial from the mailing to the counting of ballots.
  • Robyn Myers (EAA Election Committee Chair) for project managing the election proceedings in its entirety.
  • Brenna Green (EAA Administrative Assistant) for expediting replacement ballot requests.

If not for their commitments, the democratic process upon which the Engineers & Architects Association relies upon to function properly would not be possible. To those of you who practiced their right as a voluntary dues paying member, thank you for filling out and returning your ballots.

2017 Elections-Landscape_EAA